How to Report a Dangerous Truck Driver in Missouri
Many truck drivers go about their lives driving safely on the roads and meeting deadlines. However, a few dangerous ones wield their 10,000-pound trucks recklessly. In such a scenario, what do other motorists do?
The answer is relative and would depend on the type of truck in question. Under state laws, motorists can report unsafe drivers to the Missouri Department of Revenue. The agency will, in turn, conduct an investigation and make licensing restrictions if applicable.
While trying to report a dangerous driver on the road, a complainant may contact the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), a body responsible for moving companies. Depending on the circumstances, an individual can file a complaint against an unsafe driver.
Generally, the FMCSA has more control over trucks that move in more than one state. The institution will only handle a case if the following criteria apply in unsafe driving circumstances:
The safety issue involves an interstate truck driver
Violations occurred in the last 60 days
Concerned citizens can call the safety violation hotline number or file a complaint on the FMCSA website. One can report a complaint for unsafe driving, even if the 60-day time frame has elapsed.
If a motorist observes a truck driver disobeying the rules of the road in Missouri, they can also report this bad driving to the state. The section below discusses some of the things that may be considered “unsafe.”
Factors Missouri Driver's License Bureau Consider when Determining Unsafe Drivers
Immobility when it comes to physical movements regarding truck operations
Truck drivers can become incapacitated by illnesses or temporarily unfit to drive due to drugs, alcohol, drowsiness, and lack of sleep.
Residents can contact the Missouri State Highway Patrol to get an immediate response when they notice a reckless and unsafe driver on the road. The patrol officers will call local authorities when the report has effectively provided the vehicle description, direction of travel, license number, and location.
Reporting a driver that shouldn't be on the road increases road users' safety. Therefore, if one notices a dangerous driver, they should report them as soon as possible to the state officials with the help of the best truck accident attorney in St Louis.
Information Required to Report Unsafe Driving
Missouri State allows people to provide first-hand knowledge about the unsafe driver. They usually report the careless driver's license number, name, number plate of the truck being operated, and date of birth, among other things.
The reporter may also need to highlight the unsafe driver's violation. They might indicate any accident or dangerous driving habit that has occurred. The form will ask about any conditions the driver may have.
The most common ones include:
Alcohol and drug abuse
Conditions that impair consciousness
Other relevant conditions or comments
The one issuing the complaint must provide their name and contact details. However, this information remains confidential unless required in a court of law. There's immunity when an individual reports a truck driver in good faith. If this report is made deliberately with false knowledge, it's a crime. The complainant may face a class A misdemeanor charge.
The violation carries a minimum jail term of one year or a fine worth $2,000
How Motorists Report a Dangerous Trailer Driver
As highlighted earlier, people can report an unsafe driver to the Missouri state highway patrol at 1-800-525-5555. In case of dangerous active driving, an individual may dial *55. One can also fill out form 4319, which reports unsafe truck drivers due to an ongoing impairment.
Contact Powell Law Firm
Although there are many truck drivers that follow the rules of the road, stick to speed limits, and take the necessary precautions to keep other motorists safe, there are some that are negligent.
If a dangerous driver causes an accident, the victim may be entitled to compensation. A reliable personal injury attorney at Powell Law Firm can discuss a way forward, help to build the case, and provide trusted legal advice.
These attorneys are able to provide information regarding the trucking laws in Missouri. From how to become a truck driver in Missouri to the liability of a truck driver when they cause an accident. Talk to a lawyer today.
It's unfair to be solely responsible for medical bills emanating from an accident caused by the negligent acts of an unsafe truck driver. Victims can contact Powell Law at (314) 470-1374 to pursue restitution!