• Kenneth Powell

Do Motorcycles Need Turn Signals in Missouri?

The experience of riding a motorcycle can be exhilarating. Sadly, it can also turn deadly. Recent statistics show that motorcyclists are almost three times more likely to get into traffic accidents than car drivers. What’s more, because they lack the protection of an enclosed vehicle, motorcyclists made up a staggering 14% of all vehicle fatalities in 2019.

As a result of the increased dangers, every state has special laws regarding motorcycles. One of them requires motorcyclists to undergo compulsory basic training and pass a theory test to get their license. Furthermore, they also have to outfit themselves with protective gear, get motorcycle insurance, and use specific signals while on the road.

The type of signals they must use will vary from state to state. For example, Missouri has clearly outlined motorcycle laws all riders must follow, or they’ll earn steep fines. So, before donning their helmets, motorcyclists need to inform themselves about the basics — what kind of safety gear they must use and if they need turn signals in Missouri.


Requirements for Operating a Motorcycle in Missouri

Requirements for Operating a Motorcycle in Missouri


All over the US, the DMV classes motorized vehicles as motorcycles if they have an engine larger than 150cc and no more than three wheels. Motorcyclists need to have the vehicle registered and a specialized M2 license to operate it. While this license is obligatory across the country, the requirements motorcyclists have to fulfill to get it varies from state to state.

In Missouri specifically, motorcyclists can get two types of permits — a learner’s permit or a Class M endorsement. The type of permit they can apply for will depend on their age. (Read about how old do you have to be to get a motorcycle license in Missouri)

Requirements for a Learners Permit for Motorcyclists Under the Age of 16

For riders to get a learner’s permit in Missouri, they must be at minimum 15 ½ years old. Before applying for the permit, they must first complete a standard Motorcycle Rider Training Course.

This includes extensive classes on riding skills, street strategies, risk awareness, protective gear, and motorcycle controls. Apart from theory, potential applicants also have to undergo outdoor range exercises on training courses to get hands-on experience. Applicants that meet evaluation standards will then receive their completion card, which they can submit to the DMV.

Along with the paperwork, applicants also need:

● Their identification papers, including ID, birth certificate, social security number, and current residence

● A completed Class M and Class F written test

● To pass a vision exam and a road sign exam

● $6.25 for a permit fee

Requirements for a Motorcycle License or Endorsement

In Missouri, motorcyclists looking to get a motorcycle endorsement must be at least 18 years of age. What’s more, they need to have a valid learner’s permit as well as several other documents:

● Proof of a completed Class M or Class F written test.

● A completed on-cycle skill test. If the applicant previously passed a motorcycle safety course, they can waive the on-cycle portion of the exam.

● Their identification papers.

● A completed eye and road sign exam.

● $10 for a 3-year license.

● $20 for a 6-year license.


Do Motorcyclists Need Turn Signals in Missouri?


Apart from getting a valid license, motorcyclists must also follow several laws when on the road. For starters, they must have adequate safety gear.

Missouri mandates that every person riding a motorcycle wear protective headgear. This includes drivers under the age of 18 and their passengers. However, in 2020, the state instituted a new law that allowed motorcyclists over the age of 26 to operate their vehicles without a helmet.

Nevertheless, they can only do so if they have valid health insurance or another type of vehicle insurance that will cover them in the event of an accident. Next to helmets, motorcyclists should also have jackets and padded pants. However, these clothing items aren’t a requirement but a recommendation to keep riders safe.

Another requirement for riding a motorcycle is fully functioning equipment such as a headlight, taillight, brake light, horn, front and rear brakes as well as a muffler. Most states also require motorcycles to have operational turn signals, but they aren’t a requirement across the board. There are vehicle inspections where all these will be checked. (Find out if you have to pass smog test in Missouri)

For example, motorcyclists aren’t legally obligated to outfit their vehicles with turn signals in Missouri. Nonetheless, they must still adhere to traffic laws. Therefore, they can use their hands to indicate they’re about to turn. Motorcyclists who fail to adhere to these laws can earn steep fines in the Show-Me-State.

The amount will vary depending on the type of infraction. But on average, motorcyclists will have to pay anywhere between $25-$232 if they’re pulled for speeding or if their vehicle lacks the necessary equipment.


For further questions regarding this matter, seek the expertise of lawyers from a St Louis motorcycle accident law firm.